top of page
  • Nick King

Grad Life

As I began navigating my first year of graduate school, I knew I was looking for two things outside of my classwork and field experiences: The first was to find a way to learn about different topics and modalities that would complement my social work studies without a three-credit commitment. The second was to find ways to connect with UMB students not only from my school, but also from the other professional schools.


For me, the answer to both of these was enrolling in the President’s Student Leadership Institute (PSLI), housed under the Intercultural Leadership & Engagement Center at UMB. They offer FREE live and on-demand workshops on various topics that develop leadership skills and you are placed in a cohort with like-minded peers. Yes, there is an application process and other program requirements, but think of all the cool things you’ll be able to add to your LinkedIn profile. I recommend checking out their website link or contacting the program coordinator Gregory Brightbill for the finer details.


Personally, I was intrigued by their Integrative Health and Wellbeing workshops because I am always looking for ways to expand my self-care toolkit. One of the workshops I enjoyed was a live cooking demonstration called “Cooking with a Nutritionist in 30 Minutes or Less.” As a group, we learned to cook a butternut squash alfredo dish together. The presenter went through the grocery list, where to buy, and offered several custom variations for those with dietary restrictions.


As a member of the LGBTQ+ community, I appreciate the intentional inclusiveness in many of the workshop topics. I feel seen and heard, and this program has exceeded my expectations so far. I am looking forward to two upcoming workshops: “Navigating the Healthcare System as a Transgender Patient” and “How to Support Transgender and Non-Binary Folk.”


I know free time as a grad student often feels like a unicorn, but I encourage you to checkout this program to feel more connected in this new virtual environment.



As I began navigating my first year of graduate school, I knew I was looking for two things outside of my classwork and field experiences: The first was to find a way to learn about different topics and modalities that would complement my social work studies without a three-credit commitment. The second was to find ways to connect with UMB students not only from my school, but also from the other professional schools.


For me, the answer to both of these was enrolling in the President’s Student Leadership Institute (PSLI), housed under the Intercultural Leadership & Engagement Center at UMB. They offer FREE live and on-demand workshops on various topics that develop leadership skills and you are placed in a cohort with like-minded peers. Yes, there is an application process and other program requirements, but think of all the cool things you’ll be able to add to your LinkedIn profile. I recommend checking out their website link or contacting the program coordinator Gregory Brightbill for the finer details.


Personally, I was intrigued by their Integrative Health and Wellbeing workshops because I am always looking for ways to expand my self-care toolkit. One of the workshops I enjoyed was a live cooking demonstration called “Cooking with a Nutritionist in 30 Minutes or Less.” As a group, we learned to cook a butternut squash alfredo dish together. The presenter went through the grocery list, where to buy, and offered several custom variations for those with dietary restrictions.


As a member of the LGBTQ+ community, I appreciate the intentional inclusiveness in many of the workshop topics. I feel seen and heard, and this program has exceeded my expectations so far. I am looking forward to two upcoming workshops: “Navigating the Healthcare System as a Transgender Patient” and “How to Support Transgender and Non-Binary Folk.”


I know free time as a grad student often feels like a unicorn, but I encourage you to checkout this program to feel more connected in this new virtual environment.

Related Posts

See All

Caffeine & Sugar: De-Stigmatizing Addiction

This piece is a follow-up from last month’s issue, The Underbelly of Health. In this article, we dissect the underpinnings of mass consumed drugs that most people take for granted: caffeine and sugar

Reflections and Thoughts on Social Work Education

As I approach the end of my three and a half years in this program, I wish to share some reflections based on my academic and personal experiences as well as take a look at social work education more

bottom of page